ESPGHAN provides a professional and scientific network of advancing research which seeks to enhance the standards of care for patients and families wherever we work. Founded in 1968 the Society has over 700 members who are Paediatric Gastroenterologists, Hepatologists and Nutritionists, as well as scientists in relevant fields. Some of the world’s most distinguished leaders in their fields are members of our society. ESPGHAN also has members who are trainees, nurses and dieticians to ensure that this growing multi-disciplinary approach improves the outcomes for children in Europe. 

Key Activities

ESPGHAN has three standing committees focussing on gastroenterology, hepatology and nutrition [G, H & N] respectively. All aim to promote child health and increase understanding and treatment of disease states, ESPGHAN members are also involved in various working groups that concentrate on particular aspects of child care and/or disease states. The committees also produce papers and guidelines aimed at improving disease diagnosis and management for children in Europe. The Allied Health Professional Committee aims to enhance the multidisciplinary approach in G, H & N in Europe, and the Trainee Committee promotes and supports specialist training and guides trainees towards full membership of ESPGHAN.

ESPGHAN also promotes scientific exchange amongst research groups in Europe and among trainees, young doctors and scientists through G, H & N Schools, Young Investigator Forum’s, Monothematic Meetings, International Schools, and Eastern European Schools.

Annual Meeting Administration Organising Committees


President: Berthold Koletzko, Germany

General Secretary: Sanja Kolacek, Croatia

Treasurer: Alan Phillips, UK

Education Secretary: Lorenzo D’Antiga, Italy

Scientific Secretary: Marc Benninga, The Netherlands

Committee on Gastroenterology: Yvan Vandenplas, Belgium

Committee on Hepatology: Ulrich Baumann, Germany

Committee on Nutrition: Hans Van Goudoever, The Netherlands

International Affairs Representative: Luisa Mearin, The Netherlands

Scientific Programme Committee

Scientific Secretary: Marc Benninga, The Netherlands

Gastroenterology: Yvan Vandenplas, Belgium

Hepatology: Ulrich Baumann, Germany

Nutrition: Hans Van Goudoever, The Netherlands

Allied Health Professionals: Sarah Tizzard, UK

Post Graduate Course: Michael Wilshanski, Israel

Local Organising Committee, Jerusalem, Israel

Chair: Raanan Shamir

Members: Shimon Reif, Efrat Broide, Michael Wilshanski, Dan Turner, Arie Levin, Yoram Bujanover, Zvi Weizman, Ron Shaoul

Further Information

For more information on the activities of ESPGHAN or if you are interested in becoming a member please visit our main website: